The Squirrels Stopped Talking to Me Today

24 Feb

by Archie Ferndoodle

 

Late morning nothing done, coffee bitter cold,

Clouds hang heavy, low blanket eternal gray,

Conversations unfinished, stories left untold,

Sad pretense now, I bend, attempt to pray.

Life folded inward, a man once young sits old,

No true touch, things distant made of clay,

Crust and oxidation, once cast in purest gold,

The squirrels stopped talking to me today.

5 Responses to “The Squirrels Stopped Talking to Me Today”

  1. w8inglong February 24, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    This winter seems to be hanging on forever and I’ve felt like this very often but it is amazing what vitamin D can do for these feelings. It is like a quick shot of sunshine.
    My next best suggestion is feed the birds. The squirrels will complain but at least they will be talking to you again.
    God bless,
    JoP

    • oldspouse February 24, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

      I can’t go on if the squirrels remove me from their coffee klatch. I just can’t.

    • Cowboy Dan March 10, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

      Oh dear, my old friend has gone from Dave Berry to Sylvia Plath. Here comes the Bell jar.

      • oldspouse March 10, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

        Lordy, Captain Dan, how the hell are you?

  2. Joann February 24, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    This is genuinely sad. Heretofore, I never understood the importance of squirrel chatter. Now I will embrace it.

Leave a Reply

